Gottesman Libraries
Gottesman Libraries
Russell Hall
Teachers College, Columbia University
525 West 120th Street
New York, NY 10027
Russell Hall. Library. Curriculum Reading Room (Floor 5). Historical Photographs of Teachers College. Courtesy of Gottesman Libraries.
Digital Collections
While databases provide you access to a majority of published materials, other sources such as primary sources, archival materials, unpublished papers, and data, can be found in what are often called Digital Collections. Below are digital collections in the TC and CU community as well as some outside institutions for public access.
- Teachers College Digital CollectionsThe digital home of the institutional archive at Teachers College, featuring collections from faculty papers, administrative records, art collections, and more.
- Columbia Digital Library CollectionsColumbia Libraries Rare Books and Special Collections reproductions from various collections available online.
- Columbia Academic CommonsOnline access to materials created in the Columbia community, including journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more.
- The Internet ArchiveA public non-profit collection that archives internet content and webpages for easy searching.
Websites: Music and Music Education
Creation Tools
This browser applications vary widely in their complexity and capabilities, allowing one to play synths virtually and learn the basics of music creation.
- Ableton: Learning SynthsOffers clear visuzations and definitions to get started with playing physical and digital synthesizers.
- Chrome Music LabMakes learning music more accessible through fun, hands-on experiments.
- Green Oak SoftwareFree downloadable audio processing tools to manipulate sounds.
- io808A synth board that can be manipulated in real time.
- Playtronica Online SynthsA curated collection of free music creation resources.
- Splice BeatmakerCombine millions of samples to create unique tracks.
- WebSIDA Chrome-based web application that imitates a Commodore 64 synthesizer.
Notation
A selection of software, apps, and browsers that will help notate music, these applications range from professional to novice use cases.
- Mario Paint Music ComposerApply notes on a digital music sheet and press play to hear the sounds. The notes are visually represented as fun stickers.
- MuseScoreA free to use music notation application built using open-source software.
- Musink LiteMusink Lite is a free music-composition application. The paid pro version offers additional functionality.
- Notation PadA paid iPad application for composing sheet music.
- ScoreCloudWill turn songs into sheet music. Score from MIDI or audio. Arrange and edit your score. Print, export and share.
- SibeliusThis music notation software offers a free tier and several paid tier options.
Recording
These software programs are staples for recording music. They vary in price, but a few of them are free.
- AbeltonOffers a significant education discount for their paid music recording software.
- AudacityAudio editing and recording software with free and paid tiers.
- FL StudioOffers mobile applications and desktop software for recording.
- Garage BandiOS and Mac application for making and recording music.
- LogicProA collection of tools for professional songwriting, beat making, editing, and mixing.
- ProToolsProvides a complete set of tools to create, record, edit, and mix audio.