Movement Science and Education Research Guide

Database Search at Gottesman Libraries

Gottesman Libraries provides access to over 30 databases in areas related to education, health, and psychology. These databases provide access to either full-text resources or information about resources such as citations and abstracts. Use the search bar below to find relevant databases in our collection.

Databases at Columbia University Libraries

If you are looking for a specific database not available through Gottesman, try CLIO Database Search through Columbia University Libraries.

Movement Science Database

Sports Medicine and Education Index (formerly Physical Education Index) - Published since 1970, this database covers "a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society."

Biological Abstracts (CU) - An index with abstracts to periodicals in biology and the life sciences. Provides access to biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Coverage is international, and includes biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, and pharmacology.

BioMed Central (CU) - Provides access to 207 open access biological and biomedical research journals, as well as current reports and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text - The online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL from 1981-present.

ClinicalKey (CU) - Provides current information to clinical health care providers via an aggregated content service. Additionally, it includes clinical overviews, clinical trials, drug monographs, clinical guidelines, patient education handouts, images & multimedia, procedure videos, clinical calculators, and indexing and abstracts from the National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE database. 

Cochrane Library (CU) - A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; the Cochrane Methodology Register; the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; the Health Technology Assessment Database; and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database. There is a a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.

EMBASE (CU) - This database describes itself as "a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical research database. It covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree."

MEDLINE - MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide. Our library makes the database available via the Ebsco platform; ISI Web of Knowledge Medline (CU) and Ovid MEDLINE (CU) are also available via Columbia.

PubMed (CU) - "Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources."