Movement Science and Education Research Guide

Conducting Your Search

Our library catalog, Educat+ can show you results for both physical and ebooks in our collection.

When you have found a resource you are interested in, select the link “Available at Gottesman Libraries" to learn more about the item’s location, and the number of copies available in the library’s holdings. The item's location will appear as a call number (i.e. LB 1570 N49 1978) that can help you locate the item within the library in our open stacks. Collection directories are available at the Services Desk. The call number of the item you are looking for will correspond to a certain floor and level within the stacks. Resources from any of the following collections can be pulled from the shelf and checked out at the Services Desk: Cafe, Curriculum, Juvenile, New Faculty, New TC Press, Oversize, and Stacks.

**Materials on Course Reserves can be requested at the services desk. Items located in the Closed Stacks can be requested through placing a hold in Educat+.

Placing a Hold

Items in Educat+ listed as “Not Available” (these items are currently checked out of the library) and items listed as “Available at Gottesman Libraries Closed Stacks” can be requested and placed on hold.

Select the link “Not Available” or “Available at Gottesman Libraries Closed Stacks.” Then, login and complete the form to request a hold.

For more information about navigating Educat+ please refer to A Guide to Educat+ on the library blog.

Using an E-Book

Searching Educat+ will also display results for ebooks that are available. We are a digital first library, meaning we choose to acquire materials in their digital format first before considering a physical copy. You can access the ebook copies of our materials by clicking the link that appears under the heading "Full Text Availability".

Can't find a Book? Try CLIO!

While Gottesman Libraries provides access to books on topics related to our programs in Education, Health, Psychology, and leadership, we also have access to all books throughout the Columbia Libraries System. Search CLIO, Columbia Libraries catalog, to find both physical and ebooks. Results will appear in the first panel for the catalog, but some ebooks will also appear under the panel Articles+.

Print Resources

The Encyclopedia of Exercise, Sport and Health (2004)

The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine (2005)

Encyclopedia of Sports Science (1997)

E-Resources

Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine (CU) - In addition to the standard A-Z listing of entries, this 2011 reference work includes a topical Reader's Guide grouping entries within the following categories: Conditioning and Training; Diagnosis and Treatment of Sports Injuries; Diet and Nutrition; Doping and Performance Enhancement; Exercise Physiology, Biomechanics, Kinesiology; Injuries and Disorders; Injury Prevention; Medical Conditions Affecting Sports Participation; Rehabilitation and Physical Therapy; Special Populations; Physical Therapy; Specialties and Occupations in Sports Medicine; Sports and Society; Sports and Sports Medicine; Sports Psychology; Sports-Specific Injuries; and Women and Sports.

The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine (CU) - The 3rd (2006) edition of this resource "covers all the major areas of sports science and medicine including: anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology, sports sociology, sports injuries, and training principles."

Sport and Physical Education: The Key Concepts - This work "offers an up-to-date companion to the changing face of sport studies. This accessible and fully cross-referenced A-Z guide, written specifically for students of sport studies and physical education, introduces basic terms and concepts as well as offering excellent suggestions for further reading"; also available in print in the collection.

Handbooks of Research

Print Resource

Handbook of Sport Psychology, Second Edition (2001)

E-Resources

Handbook of Physical Education - Published in 2006 and made up of 45 chapters by numerous scholars in the field, this work is divided into six key parts: Section I, Theoretical Perspectives in Physical Education Research; Section II, Cross-Disciplinary Contributions to Research on Physical Education; Section III, Learners and Learning in Physical Education; Section IV, Teachers, Teaching and Teacher Education in Physical Education; Section V, Physical Education Curriculum; and Section VI, Difference and Diversity in Physical Education.

Handbook of Physical Education Research (CU) - Published in 2014, this resources comprises 27 chapters by experts in the field and includes discussion of topics including "a historical overview of the relation between health and physical education; new institutional designs to achieve better results for children; the role of professionally guided physical education in primary school; effects of traditional games played in physical education classes with elementary school students; school-based physical activity interventions to prevent or reduce obesity; and the psychosocial dynamics of physical education for students with disabilities."

Handbook of Sport Psychology, Third Edition (CU) - This 2007 publication comprises 39 chapters divided into eight sections: Part I, Motivation, Emotion, and Psychophysiology; Part II, Social Perspectives; Part III, Sport Expertise; Part IV, Interventions and Performance Enhancement; Part V, Exercise and Health Psychology; Part VI, Life Span Development; Part VII, Measurement and Methodological Issues; and Part VIII, Special Topics (including Gender and Cultural Diversity, Athletes with Disabilities, and Alcohol and Drug Use Among Athletes).

Handbook of Sports Studies (CU) - This 2002 collection is made up of 44 chapters by various scholars in the field and is divided into four principal sections: Part 1, Major Perspectives in the Sociology of Sport; Part 2, Cross-Disciplinary Differences and Connections; Part 3, Key Topics; and Part 4, Sport and Society Research Around the Globe.

Routledge Handbook of Physical Education Pedagogies - Published in 2016, this research compendium comprises 44 chapters by numerous authors and is divided into nine key sections: Part I, Designing and Conducting Physical Education Research; Part II, Curriculum Theory and Development; Part III, Curriculum Policy and Reform; Part IV, Adapted Physical Activity; Part V, Transformative Pedagogies in Physical Education; Part VI, Analyzing Teaching; Part VII, Educating Teachers 'Effectively' from PETD to CPD; Part VIII, The Role of Student and Teacher Cognition in Student Learning; and Part IX, Achievement Motivation.

Routledge Handbook of Sport Expertise (CU) - "With contributions from many of the world's leading researchers in expertise and skill acquisition in sport," this 2015 collection of 38 chapters "offers in-depth discussion of methodological and philosophical issues in sport expertise, as well as the characteristics that describe sporting 'experts' and how they can be facilitated and developed. Exploring research, theory and practice, the book also examines how scientists and practitioners can work together to improve the delivery of applied sport science."