Executive Program for Nurses Research Guide

Database Search at Gottesman Libraries

Gottesman Libraries provides access to over 30 databases in areas related to education, health, and psychology. These databases provide access to either full-text resources or information about resources such as citations and abstracts. Use the search bar below to find relevant databases in our collection.

Databases at Columbia University Libraries

If you are looking for a specific database not available through Gottesman, try CLIO Database Search through Columbia University Libraries.

Biological Abstracts (CU) - An index with abstracts to periodicals in biology and the life sciences. Provides access to biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Coverage is international, and includes biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, and pharmacology.

BioMed Central (CU) - Provides access to 207 open access biological and biomedical research journals, as well as current reports and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text - The online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL from 1981-present.

ClinicalKey (CU) - Provides current information to clinical health care providers via an aggregated content service. Additionally, it includes clinical overviews, clinical trials, drug monographs, clinical guidelines, patient education handouts, images & multimedia, procedure videos, clinical calculators, and indexing and abstracts from the National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE database. 

Cochrane Library (CU) - A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; the Cochrane Methodology Register; the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; the Health Technology Assessment Database; and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database. There is a a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.

EMBASE (CU) - This database describes itself as "a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical research database. It covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree."

MEDLINE - MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide. Our library makes the database available via the Ebsco platform; ISI Web of Knowledge Medline (CU) and Ovid MEDLINE (CU) are also available via Columbia.

PubMed (CU) - "Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources."

Cognitive Science Databases

APA PsycNET - Single search interface for PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, and PsycEXTRA; provides access to 100+ journals and 3,500+ books in the fields of psychology and psychiatry.

MIT CogNet - The database describes itself as "the authoritative resource for research in cognitive science, philosophy, neuroscience, linguistics, and psychology. Created in 2000 by MIT researchers MIT CogNet now provides more than 435,000 pages of content published by the MIT Press, including: more than 700 e-books; 9 journals, including The Journal of Cognitive Neuroscience; 12 major reference works."

PsycINFO (CU) - Covers the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.

Information Science Databases

LearnTechLib, The Learning and Technology Library (formerly EdITLib - Education & Information Technology Digital Library) - Database of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of educational technology and e-learning.

Library Literature and Information Science Full Text (CU) - "The database indexes English and non-English language articles and book reviews from library and information science periodicals, books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses and pamphlets."

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (CU) - "Database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science."