Executive Program for Nurses Research Guide

Conducting Your Search

Our library catalog, Educat+ can show you results for both physical and ebooks in our collection.

When you have found a resource you are interested in, select the link “Available at Gottesman Libraries" to learn more about the item’s location, and the number of copies available in the library’s holdings. The item's location will appear as a call number (i.e. LB 1570 N49 1978) that can help you locate the item within the library in our open stacks. Collection directories are available at the Services Desk. The call number of the item you are looking for will correspond to a certain floor and level within the stacks. Resources from any of the following collections can be pulled from the shelf and checked out at the Services Desk: Cafe, Curriculum, Juvenile, New Faculty, New TC Press, Oversize, and Stacks.

**Materials on Course Reserves can be requested at the services desk. Items located in the Closed Stacks can be requested through placing a hold in Educat+.

Placing a Hold

Items in Educat+ listed as “Not Available” (these items are currently checked out of the library) and items listed as “Available at Gottesman Libraries Closed Stacks” can be requested and placed on hold.

Select the link “Not Available” or “Available at Gottesman Libraries Closed Stacks.” Then, login and complete the form to request a hold.

For more information about navigating Educat+ please refer to A Guide to Educat+ on the library blog.

Using an E-Book

Searching Educat+ will also display results for ebooks that are available. We are a digital first library, meaning we choose to acquire materials in their digital format first before considering a physical copy. You can access the ebook copies of our materials by clicking the link that appears under the heading "Full Text Availability".

Can't find a Book? Try CLIO!

While Gottesman Libraries provides access to books on topics related to our programs in Education, Health, Psychology, and leadership, we also have access to all books throughout the Columbia Libraries System. Search CLIO, Columbia Libraries catalog, to find both physical and ebooks. Results will appear in the first panel for the catalog, but some ebooks will also appear under the panel Articles+.

Print Resources

Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, Second Edition (2006) (see also electronic version in E-Resources)

Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health, Seventh Edition (2003)

Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing (1999)

E-Resources

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior - Includes more than 200 entries on topics such as physical activity, stress and health, smoking, pain management, social support and health, cardiovascular health, health promotion, and HIV/AIDS.

Encyclopedia of Nursing Research (2nd Edition) - The 320 articles by 200 expert contributors include topics such as nursing services, electronic networks and technology, nursing education, nursing care, specialties in nursing, patients' reactions and adjustments, historical, philosophical, and cultural issues, and nursing organizations and publications.

Encyclopedia of Public Health - Examines a broad range of topics such as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics, and diseases. Includes overviews, definitions, and biographical entries.

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health (2nd Edition) - Provides more than 850 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health, including body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment.

Nursing Leadership: A Concise Encyclopedia (2nd Edition) - "Provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics [characteristics of leaders; health care delivery standards and health policy; informatics and technology; leadership in practice, education, and research; major leaders; management and executive skills; organizational leadership; quality outcomes; and theories and models], and current trends in nurse leadership."

Handbooks of Research

Print Resources

Contemporary Nursing Knowledge: Analysis and Evaluation of Nursing Models and Theories (2005)

Handbook of Clinical Nursing Research (1999)

Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice (9th Edition, 2012)

Resource Manual for Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice (2012)

E-Resources

Foundations of Nursing: An Integrated Approach (2008) - Combines anatomy and physiology with nursing theory and professional issues to present a unified approach to patient care and the modern nurse's role; applies theory to practice, taking a student-friendly approach designed to help improve clinical effectiveness and successfully integrate nursing knowledge.

Healthcare Research: A Handbook for Students and Practitioners (2010) - Provides detailed explanations of the main concepts and methods used in critical appraisal of published research; drawing on both quantitative and qualitative approaches, the authors write with an emphasis on the development of sound research skills through case-based illustrative examples and scenarios.