Digital Collections
While databases provide you access to a majority of published materials, other sources such as primary sources, archival materials, unpublished papers, and data, can be found in what are often called Digital Collections. Below are digital collections in the TC and CU community as well as some outside institutions for public access.
- Teachers College Digital CollectionsThe digital home of the institutional archive at Teachers College, featuring collections from faculty papers, administrative records, art collections, and more.
- Columbia Digital Library CollectionsColumbia Libraries Rare Books and Special Collections reproductions from various collections available online.
- Columbia Academic CommonsOnline access to materials created in the Columbia community, including journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more.
- The Internet ArchiveA public non-profit collection that archives internet content and webpages for easy searching.
E-Collections
- Alexander StreetThemed collections of print documents, video, and recorded sound across disciplines; notable databases include Alexander Street Literature (cross-searchable collections covering the literatures of place, race, and gender), American Film Scripts Online (a searchable full-text database of screenplays and shooting scripts), Dance in Video (streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century), North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories (personal views of what it meant to immigrate to the United States and Canada between 1880 and 1950), Opera in Video (streaming video database containing important opera performances), Theatre in Video (containing performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries in streaming video), and many others.
Websites
- Dance / USA Resesarch ResourcesDance/USA is the national service organization for professional dance, serving a broad cross-section of the dance field. Established in 1982, Dance/USA champions an inclusive and equitable dance field by leading, convening, advocating, and supporting individuals and organizations. They have collected research resources for study in dance.
- Dance Studies AssociationThe Dance Studies Association (DSA) is an international organization of dance scholars, educators, and artists that aims to strengthen the visibility and increase the reach of dance as embodied practice, creative endeavor and intellectual discipline.
- National Association of Schools of DanceThe National Association of Schools of Dance was established in 1981 to develop a closer relationship among schools and programs of dance for the purpose of examining and improving practices and professional standards in dance education and training.
- National Dance Education OrganizationThe National Dance Education Organization (NDEO) is a non-profit organization that supports dance educators in every setting and genre. We are dedicated to advancing dance education centered in the arts for people of all backgrounds.