Skip to Main Content

Teachers College Faculty and Emeriti Collections

This guide provides an overview collections generated to Teachers College faculty or to collections related to Teachers College faculty or Emeriti.

Biographical Note

Anna M. Cooley (1875-1955), was an influential professor of Home Economics in the early 20th century. She was the author of popular books on the subject for high schools and colleges. Cooley earned diplomas at the New York Normal College (1893), Jenny Hunter Kindergarten Training School (1894), and Barnard College (1896). She received a Bachelor of Science degree and baccalaureate diploma in Teaching Household Arts at Teachers College, Columbia University in 1903.

Collection Scope and Contents

 

The Anna M. Cooley Papers cover the period between 1880 and 1944 and consist of materials written by or collected by Cooley in her capacity as a Professor of Household Arts at Teachers College, Columbia University. The collection comprises printed reports, bulletins, clippings, and journals, dating from 1905 to 1910. These items concern home economics, including the 22nd Annual Report of the Working Girls' Vacation Society, New York City, 1905; typescripts of Cooley's writings on the history of home economics at Teachers College; clippings of articles about Teachers College's 50th anniversary, 1944; photographs of students in class at Teachers College, 1888-1903; clippings and reprints of articles about Nicholas Murray Butler, Columbia University president; printed material relating to the history of Teachers College; and a photograph of Cooley, n.d. (circa early 20th century).

 

Cooley’s papers also contain photographs of Mary Schenck Woolman and reprinted and manuscript versions of Cooley's articles about her. Additional items include miscellaneous papers of Helen Kinne (ca. 1861-1917), Professor of Household Arts Education at Teachers College, including photographs; U.S. citizenship certificate, 1905; letters, 1890-1893, appointing Kinne to positions at the New York College for the Training of Teachers; and a letter of introduction, 1905, written for her by the U.S. State Department upon her trip to Europe to study girls' industrial schools.  Finally, the Anna M. Cooley Papers contain miscellaneous papers of Grace Dodge, including printed writings (advice to girls), a membership card for the Working Girls Society, 1884; photographs; a memorial bulletin; and Dodge's letters, from the 1890s to the 1910s, relating to her involvement with Teachers College.

 

 

Image: Portrait Of Miss Anna M. Cooley, Teachers College (1915)

Teachers College Digital Collections

A few items from the Anna M. Cooley Papers have been digitized and can be found in the Teachers College Digital Collections.

Additional Notes

The accession number for Anna M. Cooley's papers is 780727. The collection was originally surveyed in December of 1986 by Julie Miller.