Skip to Main Content

Teachers College Faculty and Emeriti Collections

This guide provides an overview collections generated to Teachers College faculty or to collections related to Teachers College faculty or Emeriti.

Introduction

Finding Aids for Faculty and Emeriti Collections

Welcome to the Finding Aids for Teachers College Faculty and Emeriti Collections! This research guide aims to help users navigate the archival collections related to Record Group 28: Teachers College Faculty and Emeriti. This guide provides descriptions of distinct collections and contains orienting information that will help users understand the breadth of a collection and help them identify materials relevant to their research.

Faculty and Emeriti collections include drafts of articles and books, personal and professional correspondence, course outlines, curricula, meeting minutes, photographs, research notes, reports, audio and visual recordings, syllabi, and other materials created by or collected by Teachers College faculty. The following collections are included:

Digital Collections

Several of the collections or collection items from Record Group 28 have been digitized and can be found in the Teachers College Digital Collections. Digitized collections, or collections with digitized items, are hyperlinked in the introduction to this finding aid. If a collection name does not include a hyperlink, the collection has not been digitized or does not have a digital component. 

An image depicting the thumbnail image tiles for the Faculty and Emeriti Collections in the Teachers College Digital Collections.

Locating Archives Outside of Teachers College

One useful tool for locating archives and archival collections is ArchiveGrid. ArchiveGrid includes millions of records describing archival materials from personal papers, family histories, corporate collections, institutional repositories, and more. Through a direct search, ArchiveGrid can help you locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from libraries, museums, and archives worldwide.

ArchiveGrid largely harvests data from MARC records in WorldCat and is supported by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).

Additional resources include Empire Archival Discovery Cooperative, which allows users to search for physical archival materials in repositories across New York state, and Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC), a free resource " helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another." SNAC can be used to locate archival collections and related resources held at archives, museums, libraries, and other cultural heritage institutions.

Searches in WorldCat can also be filtered by format, including archival materials.