Officers Records

Finding Aid for Officer Records

Welcome to the Finding Aid for Record Group: 4 Officers! This research guide aims to help users navigate the archival collections related to the personnel records of officers of instruction. This finding aid contains orienting information that will help users understand the breadth of the collection and help them identify materials relevant to their research.

Educat+ is Gottesman's search tool that includes the library catalog as well as most electronic resources the library makes available. Through Educat+, you can search for archival materials available in the Teachers College Digital Collections.

One useful tool for locating archives and archival collections is ArchiveGrid. ArchiveGrid includes millions of records describing archival materials from personal papers, family histories, corporate collections, institutional repositories, and more. Through a direct search, ArchiveGrid can help you locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from libraries, museums, and archives worldwide.

ArchiveGrid largely harvests data from MARC records in WorldCat and is supported by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).

Additional resources include Empire Archival Discovery Cooperative, which allows users to search for physical archival materials in repositories across New York state, and Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC), a free resource " helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another." SNAC can be used to locate archival collections and related resources held at archives, museums, libraries, and other cultural heritage institutions.

Searches in WorldCat can also be filtered by format, including archival materials.