Searching Individual Databases
Database Search at Gottesman Libraries
Gottesman Libraries provides access to over 30 databases in areas related to education, health, and psychology. These databases provide access to either full-text resources or information about resources such as citations and abstracts. Use the search bar below to find relevant databases in our collection.
Databases at Columbia University Libraries
If you are looking for a specific database not available through Gottesman, try CLIO Database Search through Columbia University Libraries.
Science Databases
This is a selected list of online periodical indexes pertaining to a variety of scientific disciplines.
Biological Abstracts (CU) - An index with abstracts to periodicals in biology and the life sciences. Provides access to biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Coverage is from 1969 to present and is international. See also Biological Abstracts Archive databases covering 1926 through 1968.
BioMed Central (CU) - Provides access to 207 open access biological and biomedical research journals, as well as current reports and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.
General Science Full Text (CU) - The H. W. Wilson science database, comprising abstracts, bibliographic indexing, and full text material from scholarly sources and specialized magazines. Indexing begins in 1984; full-text coverage in 1995.
GeoRef (CU) - Over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses.
GreenFILE (CU) - Research database covering all aspects of the human impact on the environment, including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Oceanic Abstracts (CU) - Focused on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment, the database covers marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology, and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
PsycINFO (CU) - Covers the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
Education Databases
-
ERIC This link opens in a new windowProvides access to information from journals from Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
-
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text from over 350 journals as far back as 1996 and indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Includes in-depth coverage of special education, adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
-
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. The database provides information on societal trends affecting education, including segregation, multiculturalism, feminism, and economic developments.
-
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
-
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research dating back to 1966. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index
Content includes:
- Journal articles
- Research reports
- Curriculum and teaching guides
- Conference papers
- Dissertations and theses
- Books
-
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles and contains more than 200 educational reports.
Multidisciplinary Databases
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides active full text for over 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals. Also ffers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals in nearly every area of academic study.
-
JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 12 million scholarly academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, categorized under Area Studies, Arts, Business and Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine & Allied Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences.
-
Proquest (CU)Provides broad multidisciplinary coverage of scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations, and other types of publications. Access provided by Columbia University Libraries.
-
Scopus (CU)Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
-
Web of ScienceWeb of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.