Searching Individual Databases
Database Search at Gottesman Libraries
Gottesman Libraries provides access to over 30 databases in areas related to education, health, and psychology. These databases provide access to either full-text resources or information about resources such as citations and abstracts. Use the search bar below to find relevant databases in our collection.
Databases at Columbia University Libraries
If you are looking for a specific database not available through Gottesman, try CLIO Database Search through Columbia University Libraries.
Nursing Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®
Content includes:
- Full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo
- Coverage dating back to 1937
- Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of healthcare topics
Content includes:
- 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals
- Reference books
- Pamphlets
- Videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world. Additionally, MEDLINE Subject Headings help users effectively search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine
Content covers:
- Medicine
- Nursing
- Dentistry
- Veterinary medicine
- The health care system
- Pre-clinical sciences, and much more
- PubMed (CU)"Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources."
- EMBASE (CU)This database describes itself as "a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical research database. It covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree."
Education Databases
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowProvides access to information from journals from Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text from over 350 journals as far back as 1996 and indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Includes in-depth coverage of special education, adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
- Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. The database provides information on societal trends affecting education, including segregation, multiculturalism, feminism, and economic developments.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles and contains more than 200 educational reports.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides active full text for over 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals. Also ffers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals in nearly every area of academic study.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 12 million scholarly academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, categorized under Area Studies, Arts, Business and Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine & Allied Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Proquest (CU)Provides broad multidisciplinary coverage of scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations, and other types of publications. Access provided by Columbia University Libraries.