Diabetes Education and Management Research Guide

Conducting Your Search

Our library catalog, Educat+ can show you results for both physical and ebooks in our collection.

When you have found a resource you are interested in, select the link “Available at Gottesman Libraries" to learn more about the item’s location, and the number of copies available in the library’s holdings. The item's location will appear as a call number (i.e. LB 1570 N49 1978) that can help you locate the item within the library in our open stacks. Collection directories are available at the Services Desk. The call number of the item you are looking for will correspond to a certain floor and level within the stacks. Resources from any of the following collections can be pulled from the shelf and checked out at the Services Desk: Cafe, Curriculum, Juvenile, New Faculty, New TC Press, Oversize, and Stacks.

**Materials on Course Reserves can be requested at the services desk. Items located in the Closed Stacks can be requested through placing a hold in Educat+.

Placing a Hold

Items in Educat+ listed as “Not Available” (these items are currently checked out of the library) and items listed as “Available at Gottesman Libraries Closed Stacks” can be requested and placed on hold.

Select the link “Not Available” or “Available at Gottesman Libraries Closed Stacks.” Then, login and complete the form to request a hold.

For more information about navigating Educat+ please refer to A Guide to Educat+ on the library blog.

Using an E-Book

Searching Educat+ will also display results for ebooks that are available. We are a digital first library, meaning we choose to acquire materials in their digital format first before considering a physical copy. You can access the ebook copies of our materials by clicking the link that appears under the heading "Full Text Availability".

Can't find a Book? Try CLIO!

While Gottesman Libraries provides access to books on topics related to our programs in Education, Health, Psychology, and leadership, we also have access to all books throughout the Columbia Libraries System. Search CLIO, Columbia Libraries catalog, to find both physical and ebooks. Results will appear in the first panel for the catalog, but some ebooks will also appear under the panel Articles+.

Encyclopedia of Education (2nd Edition) - The 2003 version of the classic resource in education and related fields.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture - A survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries; features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others.

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior - Includes more than 200 entries on topics such as physical activity, stress and health, smoking, pain management, social support and health, cardiovascular health, health promotion, and HIV/AIDS.

Encyclopedia of Nursing Research (2nd Edition) - Published in 2006, this resource comprises 320 articles by 200 expert contributors and include topics such as nursing services, electronic networks and technology, nursing education, nursing care, specialties in nursing, patients' reactions and adjustments, historical, philosophical, and cultural issues, and nursing organizations and publications.

Encyclopedia of Nutrition Research (CU) - This resource, published in 2011, "presents and discusses current research in the study of nutrition. Topics discussed include appetite control; central inhibitory mechanism controlling water and sodium intake; the validity of nutritional assessment; child dietary intake; nutrition and diabetes mellitus type 1; vegetable and food consumption; elder fruit juices and plant vitamin antioxidants and their influence on the human diet.

Encyclopedia of Public Health - Examines a broad range of topics such as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics, and diseases. Includes overviews, definitions, and biographical entries.

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health (2nd Edition) (CU) - Provides more than 850 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health, including body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment.

Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology (2nd Edition) - In more than 650 entries covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (CU) - This key reference work comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

The Diabetes Dictionary (CU) - A concise reference work produced by the National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse, a service of the National Kidney and Urologic Diseases Information Clearinghouse, part of the National Institutes of Health.

Ebook Central - Online books across a range of subject areas; searchable, under Browse Subjects, by Education, Health and Medicine, Social Science, Science and Technology, etc. and other topics.

Health Reference Center Academic (CU) - Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students.\

PsycARTICLES - A full-text database of journals published by the American Psychological Association and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more.

PsycBOOKS - A full text database of books published by the American Psychological Association, classic books, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.

PsycEXTRA - A gray literature database comprised of material written for professionals and disseminated outside of peer-reviewed journals; documents include newsletters, magazines, newspapers, technical and annual reports, government reports, consumer brochures, and more.

SAGE Knowledge (CU) - "A database of ebooks and reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology."

Handbooks of Research

Handbook of Clinical Nursing Research (CU) - This 1999 publication collections 35 chapters by numerous authors divided in the follow sections: Part I, Philosophical, Theoretical, and Methodological Perspectives and Issues; Part IIA, Critical Health Needs of Communities and Vulnerable Populations: Clinical Nursing Research for Vulnerable Populations; Part IIB, Clinical Nursing Practice Strategies and Nurse Sensitive Outcomes; Part IIC, Families in Health, Illness, and Life Transitions; Part IID, Health Promotion and Risk Reduction ; Part IIE, Biobehavioral Manifestations of Health and Illness; Part IIF, Women's Health; Part IIG, Older Adults: Health and Illness Issues; and Part IIH, Environments for Optimizing Client Outcomes.

Handbook of Health Behavior Research III: Demography, Development, and Diversity (CU) - This 1997 publication is made up of 16 chapters by experts in the field, divided into the the following sections: Overview; Health Behavior and the Human Life Span; Health Behavior in Populations “At Risk”; Health Behavior in Structured Communities; and Integration (Demography, Development, and Diversity of Health Behavior).

Handbook of Health Behavior IV: Relevance for Professionals and Issues for the Future Relevance for Professionals and Issues for the Future (CU) - Published in 1997, this research compendium comprises 20 chapters, by various experts in the field, divided into four sections: Professional Training and Practice; Health Management and Health Policy; Planned Applications; and Toward the Future.

Oxford Handbook of Health Psychology (CU) - This work, published in 2011 and made up of 36 chapters, "compiles the most relevant scholarship from psychology, medicine, and public health to offer a thorough and authoritative model of the biopsychosocial approach to health. Articles address all relevant concepts in this model, including its applications to health promotion, health behavior change, and treatment."

Handbooks of Practice

Handbook of Diabetes, Fourth Edition - This 2010 publication "contains information on the new IFCC units for measuring blood glucose and the latest drugs being used to combat diabetes, as well as alternative methods of insulin delivery. The book has been fully updated and redesigned to make it even more user-friendly, and contains case histories, practice points, and landmark clinical trials."

Handbook of Diabetes Management - Published in 2005, this handbook "discusses the origins of diabetes and medication management and treatment, then presents advice based on the latest research findings on: behavioral health and self-management issues and interventions; tips for patients dealing with issues such as travel, surgery, and foot care; treating specific patient populations including Latinos, Native Americans, rural communities, and the uninsured; case studies from successful, replicable programs."

Oxford American Handbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes (CU) - This 2018 resource comprises 118 chapters divided into the following 13 sections: Part 1, Thyroid; Part 2, Pituitary; Part 3, Adrenals; Part 4, Reproductive endocrinology; Part 5, Endocrine disorders of pregnancy; Part 6, Calcium and bone metabolism; Part 7, Pediatric endocrinology; Part 8, Neuroendocrine disorders; Part 9, Inherited endocrine syndromes and multiple endocrine neoplasia (MEN); Part 10, Miscellaneous endocrinology; Part 11, Diabetes; Part 12, Lipids and hyperlipidemia; and Part 13, Laboratory endocrinology.

Oxford Handbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes, Third Edition (CU) - Published in 2014, this handbook "includes new dedicated chapters on endocrine surgery, endocrinology and ageing, and obesity, as well as new topics, including intrinsic imperfections of endocrine replacement therapy, transition to adult care, and survivors of childhood cancer. Written in conjunction with the Oxford Textbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes, it covers clinical investigation and management of both common and rare conditions."