Gottesman Libraries
Gottesman Libraries
Russell Hall
Teachers College, Columbia University
525 West 120th Street
New York, NY 10027
Russell Hall. Library. Curriculum Reading Room (Floor 5). Historical Photographs of Teachers College. Courtesy of Gottesman Libraries.
Digital Collections
While databases provide you access to a majority of published materials, other sources such as primary sources, archival materials, unpublished papers, and data, can be found in what are often called Digital Collections. Below are digital collections in the TC and CU community as well as some outside institutions for public access.
- Teachers College Digital CollectionsThe digital home of the institutional archive at Teachers College, featuring collections from faculty papers, administrative records, art collections, and more.
- Columbia Digital Library CollectionsColumbia Libraries Rare Books and Special Collections reproductions from various collections available online.
- Columbia Academic CommonsOnline access to materials created in the Columbia community, including journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more.
- The Internet ArchiveA public non-profit collection that archives internet content and webpages for easy searching.
Curriculum and Teaching Websites
- EssentialEdLaunched in April 2020 in response to the sudden suspension of in-person instruction in New York public schools, EssentialEd was a collaborative effort between Capital Region BOCES and its 24 component school districts to offer curated resources for P-12 educators to support them with online learning. Moving forward, Capital Region BOCES has focused its efforts on lessons mapped to the priority curriculum standards for K-8 ELA, math, science and social studies.
- Open Educational Resources CommonsIn 2007, ISKME launched OER Commons, its digital public library and collaboration platform, informed by the organization's pioneering efforts in knowledge management and educational innovation. OER Commons offers a comprehensive infrastructure for curriculum experts and instructors at all levels to identify high-quality OER and collaborate around their adaptation, evaluation, and use to address the needs of teachers and learners.
- TeachingBooksTeachingBooks.net is a website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. The online database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment; the resources are selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities. Access provided by Gottesman Libraries.
- American Association for Teaching and Curriculum (AATC)An important historical event in the development of organizations dealing with the scholarly field of teaching and curriculum was the founding of the American Association for Teaching and Curriculum (AATC) on October 1, 1993. The members of the AATC believed that the time was long overdue to recognize teaching and curriculum as a basic field of scholarly study, to constitute a national learned society for the scholarly field of teaching and curriculum (teaching is the more inclusive concept; curriculum is an integral part of teaching–the “what to teach” aspect).
Curriculum Standards
- WeTeachNYC from New York City Department of EducationWeTeachNYC is a professional learning portal created by the NYC DOE where teachers and school leaders can find the resources they need.
- EngageNY from New York State Department of EducationEngageNY offers free curriculum materials aligned with the Common Core State Standards.
- Achieve the CoreThis website provides free, high-quality resources and materials to support the implementation of the Common Core State Standards.
Audio-visual Resources
- Annenberg Learner ResourcesMultimedia resources for K-12 classroom instruction and teacher professional development.
- Columbia University's Guide for Streaming VideoTeachers College students, faculty, and staff have access to video streaming platforms via Columbia University Libraries.
- The Teaching ChannelTeaching Channel is an online community where teachers can watch, share, and learn diverse techniques on video for instructing students.
- The Library of Congress: Audio-Visual Resources for EducatorsThe Library of Congress provides free resources for educators to implement primary sources in the classroom.
Children's Literature Resources
- Database of Award Winning Children's LiteratureThe purpose of this database is to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature (English-language) or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards.
- Reading Rockets Book FinderBook Finder is an online tool that allows users to search through a large database of children's books by various criteria like age, genre, author, illustrator, format, and topic, enabling them to create customized book lists based on specific needs and interests, with a particular focus on finding diverse titles.
- International Children's Digital LibraryThe mission of the International Children's Digital Library Foundation (ICDL Foundation) is to support the world's children in becoming effective members of the global community - who exhibit tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages and ideas -- by making the best in children's literature available online free of charge.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive DatabaseChildren’s Literature Comprehensive Database holds the largest collection of children's and young adult book reviews in the reviewing industry.
- Teaching BooksThis database comprises “263,909 (and counting) resources about children’s and young adult books, including print and media resources for children and teens and in-depth information and analysis for educators and adults.”