LibGuides: Cognitive Science in Education Research Guide: Databases

Searching Individual Databases

Database Search at Gottesman Libraries

Gottesman Libraries provides access to over 30 databases in areas related to education, health, and psychology. These databases provide access to either full-text resources or information about resources such as citations and abstracts. Use the search bar below to find relevant databases in our collection.

Databases at Columbia University Libraries

If you are looking for a specific database not available through Gottesman, try CLIO Database Search through Columbia University Libraries.

Cognitive Science Databases

APA PsycNET - Single search interface for PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, and PsycEXTRA; provides access to 100+ journals and 3,500+ books in the fields of psychology and psychiatry.

MIT CogNet - The database describes itself as "the authoritative resource for research in cognitive science, philosophy, neuroscience, linguistics, and psychology. Created in 2000 by MIT researchers MIT CogNet now provides more than 435,000 pages of content published by the MIT Press, including: more than 700 e-books; 9 journals, including The Journal of Cognitive Neuroscience; 12 major reference works."

PsycINFO (CU) - Covers the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.

Psychology Databases

APA PsycInfo
PsycINFO® is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO® provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.

Please note: If you are accessing this database off-campus you will be prompted to log-in with your Columbia University UNI and password
APA PsycNet
APA PsycNET is a database of streaming psychotherapy demonstrations featuring some of the most renowned therapists in North America working with participants on a host of therapeutic topics. Allows viewers to go straight to the heart of clinical practice with demonstrations of psychotherapy as it is done by today's leading practitioners. Resource for teaching and training in psychotherapy practice and for education about psychology..

Content includes:
- APA PsycARTICLES
- APA PsycBOOKS
- APA PsycTests
- APA PsycTHERAPY
  
  Please note: If you are accessing this database off-campus you will be prompted to log-in with your Columbia University UNI and password

APA PsycARTICLES
Provides full text access, citations and abstracts to articles from journals published by APA, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. Coverage for most journals begins with 1985, others have only more recent years.
APA PsycBOOKS
PsycBOOKS is a full-text database that provides electronic access to thousands of scholarly and professional titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA), including the most recent titles in psychological and behavioral science, plus a substantial backfile of classic and historic works.
APA PsycINFO
PsycINFO® is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

Psychotherapy.net
Psychotherapy.net is a searchable database of streaming videos on psychotherapy, covering numerous approaches, issues, populations, and experts.

Content covers:
- Neuroscience
- Child therapy
- Art therapy
- Group therapy
- Social work

PEP Web
PEP Web provides access to the PEP Web archive, which contains both books and journal articles. The book archive includes the full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, Freud's letters to his major collaborators and the full text of the major works by Wilfred Bion, Melanie Klein and Donald Winnicott along with other major psychoanalytic authors.
PubMed
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text
SAGE Video Psychology Collection
This collection features 134 hours across 426 videos, covering different content types that will help users instruct, learn, think deeply, and become even more curious. See professional psychologists in action, such as forensic psychologists working inside a prison, or clinical psychologists treating patients with a variety of mental health disorders; or venture back to the field's beginnings via footage of John B. Watson or Muzafer Sherif's early experiments.

Education Databases

ERIC
Provides access to information from journals from Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Provides full text from over 350 journals as far back as 1996 and indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Includes in-depth coverage of special education, adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. The database provides information on societal trends affecting education, including segregation, multiculturalism, feminism, and economic developments.
Education Research Complete
A bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research dating back to 1966. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index

Content includes:
- Journal articles
- Research reports
- Curriculum and teaching guides
- Conference papers
- Dissertations and theses
- Books
Professional Development Collection
This database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles and contains more than 200 educational reports.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Provides active full text for over 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals. Also ffers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals in nearly every area of academic study.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV
Provides access to more than 12 million scholarly academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, categorized under Area Studies, Arts, Business and Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine & Allied Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences.

Proquest (CU)
Provides broad multidisciplinary coverage of scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations, and other types of publications. Access provided by Columbia University Libraries.
Scopus (CU)
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
Web of Science
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.