Searching Individual Databases
Database Search at Gottesman Libraries
Gottesman Libraries provides access to over 30 databases in areas related to education, health, and psychology. These databases provide access to either full-text resources or information about resources such as citations and abstracts. Use the search bar below to find relevant databases in our collection.
Databases at Columbia University Libraries
If you are looking for a specific database not available through Gottesman, try CLIO Database Search through Columbia University Libraries.
Communication-Related Databases
Communication Abstracts (CU) - A comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 244,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of communication discipline and depth encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text (CU) - "Covers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television."
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (CU) - Indexes and abstracts articles in the study of language, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics, and descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.
Educational Technology Database
-
LearnTechLibThe Learning and Technology Library (formerly EdITLib - Education & Information Technology Digital Library) - Database of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of educational technology and e-learning.
-
IEEE XploreContains the full text of all IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), IEE, and IET journal articles, conference papers, and standards published since 1988, with selected content dating back to 1913.
Education Databases
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowProvides access to information from journals from Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text from over 350 journals as far back as 1996 and indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Includes in-depth coverage of special education, adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
- Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. The database provides information on societal trends affecting education, including segregation, multiculturalism, feminism, and economic developments.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles and contains more than 200 educational reports.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides active full text for over 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals. Also ffers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals in nearly every area of academic study.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 12 million scholarly academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, categorized under Area Studies, Arts, Business and Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine & Allied Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences.
- Proquest (CU)Provides broad multidisciplinary coverage of scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations, and other types of publications. Access provided by Columbia University Libraries.
- Scopus (CU)Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.