Children's Literature

The Curriculum (CURR) and Juvenile (JUV) collections housed in the second floor reading room consist of print books and other physical media published between 1990 and the present day. There are also displays of newly arrived books from these collections frequently offered on the "Rocket Ship" shaped bookshelves in the workspace of this floor.

The Gottesman Libraries grant access to multiple historical collections of materials for young learners. Scholars focusing on changes in curriculum development or development in children’s literature and publishing may take interest in the following:

• The Harvey Darton Collection: literature for children written between the 17th-19th centuries
• The Annie E. Moore Collection: focusing on illustrated works, this collection offers a unique perspective on the conception and production of English and American artists’ work in children’s publishing
• The “W Collection”: over 2,400 items including chapbooks and other rare works from the 18th-19th Centuries

Materials from the above collections, and more, are located in the library’s closed stacks and must be requested directly through their records in Educat+.

Due to cataloging of the historical collections and recent changes to our library system, assistance may be necessary in finding materials in these collections. Please reach out to us through Ask a Librarian for any related inquiries.

Conducting Your Search

Our library catalog, Educat+ can show you results for both physical and ebooks in our collection.

When you have found a resource you are interested in, select the link “Available at Gottesman Libraries" to learn more about the item’s location, and the number of copies available in the library’s holdings. The item's location will appear as a call number (i.e. LB 1570 N49 1978) that can help you locate the item within the library in our open stacks. Collection directories are available at the Services Desk. The call number of the item you are looking for will correspond to a certain floor and level within the stacks. Resources from any of the following collections can be pulled from the shelf and checked out at the Services Desk: Cafe, Curriculum, Juvenile, New Faculty, New TC Press, Oversize, and Stacks.

**Materials on Course Reserves can be requested at the services desk. Items located in the Closed Stacks can be requested through placing a hold in Educat+.

Placing a Hold

Items in Educat+ listed as “Not Available” (these items are currently checked out of the library) and items listed as “Available at Gottesman Libraries Closed Stacks” can be requested and placed on hold.

Select the link “Not Available” or “Available at Gottesman Libraries Closed Stacks.” Then, login and complete the form to request a hold.

For more information about navigating Educat+ please refer to A Guide to Educat+ on the library blog.

Using an E-Book

Searching Educat+ will also display results for ebooks that are available. We are a digital first library, meaning we choose to acquire materials in their digital format first before considering a physical copy. You can access the ebook copies of our materials by clicking the link that appears under the heading "Full Text Availability".

Can't find a Book? Try CLIO!

While Gottesman Libraries provides access to books on topics related to our programs in Education, Health, Psychology, and leadership, we also have access to all books throughout the Columbia Libraries System. Search CLIO, Columbia Libraries catalog, to find both physical and ebooks. Results will appear in the first panel for the catalog, but some ebooks will also appear under the panel Articles+.