Gottesman Libraries
Gottesman Libraries
Russell Hall
Teachers College, Columbia University
525 West 120th Street New York, NY 10027
+1 (212) 678-3494
Russell Hall. Library. Curriculum Reading Room (Floor 5). Historical Photographs of Teachers College. Courtesy of Gottesman Libraries.
How to Search the Digital Collections
Want to find materials in the Teachers College Digital Collections? There are multiple ways to search.
Browsing the Digital Collections
If you are starting your search from the library's website, click "Advanced Search" under the search bar. From there, you will be taken to the library's catalog. At the top of the page, you will see a banner with options, such as "Journal Search" and "Research Guides." Click on the option for "Digital Collections" to be taken directly to Digital Collections landing page.
Once in the Digital Collections, you can browse each collection at the top-level, such as Teachers College Art Collections and the Archives of the Department of Nursing; at the sub-level, such as R. Louise McManus; or at the document-level from within a sub-collection. You can also use the search bar to search collections or collection items by keyword.
Searching for Specific Material
If you are looking for more specific items, you can search directly from the catalog for keywords, subjects, creators, and collections. From the advanced search option, type in search terms, subjects or creators, select relevant dates, or choose other search filters. Then click the search button and use the "Refine Your Results" feature on the left side of the screen to select specific Digital Collections. You can narrow results further with limiters such as creation date, creators, resource type, and subject.
