Gottesman Libraries
Gottesman Libraries
Russell Hall
Teachers College, Columbia University
525 West 120th Street
New York, NY 10027
Russell Hall. Library. Curriculum Reading Room (Floor 5). Historical Photographs of Teachers College. Courtesy of Gottesman Libraries.
Digital Collections
While databases provide you access to a majority of published materials, other sources such as primary sources, archival materials, unpublished papers, and data, can be found in what are often called Digital Collections. Below are digital collections in the TC and CU community as well as some outside institutions for public access.
- Teachers College Digital CollectionsThe digital home of the institutional archive at Teachers College, featuring collections from faculty papers, administrative records, art collections, and more.
- Columbia Digital Library CollectionsColumbia Libraries Rare Books and Special Collections reproductions from various collections available online.
- Columbia Academic CommonsOnline access to materials created in the Columbia community, including journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more.
- The Internet ArchiveA public non-profit collection that archives internet content and webpages for easy searching.
Art Education Web Resources & Professional Associations
-
American Education Research AssociationThe American Educational Research Association (AERA), a national research society, strives to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.
-
Art Education AustraliaArt Education Australia Inc. (AEA) is the peak national professional association that supports and promotes art education at all levels as an integral part of general education and art education research within Australia.
-
Canadian Society of Education through Art (CSEA)CSEA/SCÉA represents art educators, students and artists in schools, universities, and art galleries. We are dedicated to the visual arts as essential to student learning in schools, colleges, universities, community settings and other venues, because art education is the conduit to holistic human growth and development, both affective and cognitive.
-
Foundations in Art: Theory and Education (FATE)FATE is an educational association dedicated to the promotion of excellence in the development and teaching of college-level foundation courses in both studio and art history.
-
Google Arts and CultureGoogle Arts & Culture is an online platform of high-resolution images and videos of artworks and cultural artifacts from partner cultural organizations throughout the world.
-
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryDiscover the story of art and global culture through The Met collection. Funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund.
-
International Society of Education Through Art (INSEA)InSEA a non-profit organisation, its purpose is to promote and advance education through art, design and crafts in all countries, in addition to nurturing intercultural understanding
-
Kennedy Center Digital Resources Librarylesson plans and digital resources to help support art education from the Kennedy Center educators.
-
National Art Education AssociationFounded in 1947, the National Art Education Association is the leading professional membership organization exclusively for visual arts, design, and media arts education professionals.
-
National Society for Education in Art & Design (NSEAD)NSEAD is the trade union, learned society and professional association for art, craft & design educators across the UK.
-
United States Society for Education Through Art (USSEA)The purpose of the association is to provide a network with art educators who are committed to art education and who believe in sharing inclusive and respectful cultural perspectives from a variety of cultures through art education.