Anthropology and Education Research Guide

Conducting Your Search

Our library catalog, Educat+ can show you results for both physical and ebooks in our collection.

When you have found a resource you are interested in, select the link “Available at Gottesman Libraries" to learn more about the item’s location, and the number of copies available in the library’s holdings. The item's location will appear as a call number (i.e. LB 1570 N49 1978) that can help you locate the item within the library in our open stacks. Collection directories are available at the Services Desk. The call number of the item you are looking for will correspond to a certain floor and level within the stacks. Resources from any of the following collections can be pulled from the shelf and checked out at the Services Desk: Cafe, Curriculum, Juvenile, New Faculty, New TC Press, Oversize, and Stacks.

**Materials on Course Reserves can be requested at the services desk. Items located in the Closed Stacks can be requested through placing a hold in Educat+.

Placing a Hold

Items in Educat+ listed as “Not Available” (these items are currently checked out of the library) and items listed as “Available at Gottesman Libraries Closed Stacks” can be requested and placed on hold.

Select the link “Not Available” or “Available at Gottesman Libraries Closed Stacks.” Then, login and complete the form to request a hold.

For more information about navigating Educat+ please refer to A Guide to Educat+ on the library blog.

Using an E-Book

Searching Educat+ will also display results for ebooks that are available. We are a digital first library, meaning we choose to acquire materials in their digital format first before considering a physical copy. You can access the ebook copies of our materials by clicking the link that appears under the heading "Full Text Availability".

Can't find a Book? Try CLIO!

While Gottesman Libraries provides access to books on topics related to our programs in Education, Health, Psychology, and leadership, we also have access to all books throughout the Columbia Libraries System. Search CLIO, Columbia Libraries catalog, to find both physical and ebooks. Results will appear in the first panel for the catalog, but some ebooks will also appear under the panel Articles+.

Print Resources

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (4 volumes, 1996)

E-Resources

Encyclopedia of World Cultures (CU) - "This [1996] reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture."

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (CU) - The 2nd (2010) edition "Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences."

Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (CU) - This second (2008) edition of the encyclopedia "provides a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline, combining anthropological theory and ethnography."

Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology: An Encyclopedia (CU) - Published in 2013, this resource includes an entry on the ethnography of speaking, along with other articles on linguistic anthropology and related topics.

Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies (CU) - "The nine chapters in Part I argue that decolonizing inquiry involves the performance of counterhegemonic theories that disrupt the colonial and the postcolonial. The five chapters in Part II examine particular indigenous interpretive pedagogies, those associated with Hawaiian, Native American, borderland-Mestizaje, endarkened, and Islamic epistemologies. The five chapters in Part III examine indigenous inquiry practices. The eight chapters in Part IV anchor indigenous interpretive pedagogies and practices in the discourses surrounding democracy, power, truth, ethics, and social justice."

The Handbook of Ethical Research with Ethnocultural Populations and Communities (CU) - This 2008 volume "provides revisions to mainstream thinking about research design, data collection, analysis, and interpretation of results to assure culturally meaningful and ethically sound outcomes. Included are discussions regarding gaining access and earning credibility, weighing the value of a selective sampling instead of a randomized sampling procedure, defining incentives in a collectivistic culture, obtaining valid informed consent, selection of instruments with relevant norms, assuring translation/conceptual/ metric equivalence, and interpreting data within the proper cultural context."

Handbook of Ethnography (CU) - The chapters in this 2001 collection are " intended to provide the reader with a tour d'horizon of ethnographic methods and ethnographic research in the social sciences."

Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology (CU) - The second (2015) edition of this work "reflects major developments of the past decade, including: the rising prominence of mixed methods, the emergence of new technologies, and evolving views on ethnographic writing. Spanning the chain of research, from designing a project through methods of data collection and interpretive analysis, the Handbook features new chapters on ethnography of online communities, social survey research, and network and geospatial analysis. Considered discussion of ethics, epistemology, and the presentation of research results to diverse audiences."

The SAGE Handbook of Applied Social Research Methods - This second (2009) edition of the work intends to provide "students and researchers with the most comprehensive resource covering core methods, research designs, and data collection, management, and analysis issues."

The SAGE Handbook of Social Anthropology (CU) - "Divided into four sections, each edited by leading figures in social anthropology," this 2012 handbook "covers interfaces, places, methodologies and futures. Within each section authors at the leading edge of the discipline contribute in-depth chapters on the central principles and latest developments in their area of expertise."

Wiley Online Library (CU) - Provides full text access to journals, reference works, books, and databases published by Wiley in numerous disciplines; notable handbooks include The Handbook of Applied Linguistics, The Handbook of Discourse Analysis, The Handbook of Educational Linguistics, The Handbook of Linguistics, The Handbook of Sociolinguistics, and many others.

Annual Reviews (CU) - Reviews of topics in numerous disciplines published as annual journals; see series for Anthropology, Linguistics, Sociology, and others.

Review of Educational Research - A publication of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), the RER publishes quarterly critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education, including conceptualizations, interpretations, and syntheses of scholarly work.

Review of Research in Education - A publication of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), the RRE provides an annual overview and descriptive analysis of selected topics of relevant research literature through critical and synthesizing essays.