AEGIS Program Research Guide

Conducting Your Search

Our library catalog, Educat+ can show you results for both physical and ebooks in our collection.

When you have found a resource you are interested in, select the link “Available at Gottesman Libraries" to learn more about the item’s location, and the number of copies available in the library’s holdings. The item's location will appear as a call number (i.e. LB 1570 N49 1978) that can help you locate the item within the library in our open stacks. Collection directories are available at the Services Desk. The call number of the item you are looking for will correspond to a certain floor and level within the stacks. Resources from any of the following collections can be pulled from the shelf and checked out at the Services Desk: Cafe, Curriculum, Juvenile, New Faculty, New TC Press, Oversize, and Stacks.

**Materials on Course Reserves can be requested at the services desk. Items located in the Closed Stacks can be requested through placing a hold in Educat+.

Placing a Hold

Items in Educat+ listed as “Not Available” (these items are currently checked out of the library) and items listed as “Available at Gottesman Libraries Closed Stacks” can be requested and placed on hold.

Select the link “Not Available” or “Available at Gottesman Libraries Closed Stacks.” Then, login and complete the form to request a hold.

For more information about navigating Educat+ please refer to A Guide to Educat+ on the library blog.

Using an E-Book

Searching Educat+ will also display results for ebooks that are available. We are a digital first library, meaning we choose to acquire materials in their digital format first before considering a physical copy. You can access the ebook copies of our materials by clicking the link that appears under the heading "Full Text Availability".

Can't find a Book? Try CLIO!

While Gottesman Libraries provides access to books on topics related to our programs in Education, Health, Psychology, and leadership, we also have access to all books throughout the Columbia Libraries System. Search CLIO, Columbia Libraries catalog, to find both physical and ebooks. Results will appear in the first panel for the catalog, but some ebooks will also appear under the panel Articles+.

Print Resources

Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning (2004) [see e-version below]

Encyclopedia of Educational Research, 6th Edition (1992)

International Encyclopedia of Adult Education (2005)

International Encyclopedia of Adult Education and Training, 2nd Edition (1996)

E-Resources

Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning (CU) - This work attempts to define and apply "the best practices of contemporary continuing education"; "includes over 275 entries, each written by a specialist in that area, giving the reader comprehensive coverage of all aspects of distributed learning, including use of group processes, self-assessment, the life line experience, and developing a learning contract."

Encyclopedia of Education (2nd Edition) - The 2003 version of the classic resource in education and related fields.

Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology - An overview for students, researchers, and professionals in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources, providing state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts.

Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology (2nd Edition) - In more than 650 entries covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including notable people, theories, and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine, and sports; and career information.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (CU) - This key reference work comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

Key Concepts in Adult Education and Training (CU) - Provides an overview of the field in eight chapters focusing on the core concepts, international concepts, institutional concepts, work-related concepts, learning concepts, curricular concepts, structural concepts, and conceptual understandings.

Print Resources

Handbook of Adult and Continuing Education (2010)

Handbook of Adult Development and Learning (2006) [see e-version below]

Handbook of Research on Adult Learning and Development (2009)

Handbook of Research on Curriculum (1992)

Handbook of Research on Educational Administration, 2nd Edition (1999)

Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education, 2nd Edition (2004)

Handbook of Research on Teacher Education: Enduring Questions in Changing Contexts, 3rd Edition (2008) [see e-version below]

Handbook of Research on Teaching, 5th Edition (2016)

Handbook of Transformative Learning: Theory, Research, and Practice (2012) [see e-version below]

Interdisciplinary Handbook of Adult Lifespan Learning (1994)

The Oxford Handbook of Reciprocal Adult Development and Learning (2011) [see e-version below]

Routledge International Handbook of Lifelong Learning (2009)

E-Resources

Handbook of Adult Development (CU) - This 2003 resource, "an outgrowth of contemporary research on development over the adult lifespan," is made up of 30 chapters, written by key scholars in the field, divided into three major parts: (1) Introductory Theory and Method: (2) Biocognitive Development in Adulthood; and (2) Social Development in Adulthood.

Handbook of Adult Development and Learning - This work comprises 22 chapters divided into the following six parts: (1) Foundations; (2) Do Development and Learning Fuel One Another in Adulthood? Four Key Areas; (3) The Self-System in Adult Development and Learning; (4) The Higher Reaches of Adult Development and Learning; (5) Essential Contexts for the Learning, Developing Adult; and (6) Adult Development and Learning, Measured and Applied.

Handbook of Research on Teacher Education: Enduring Questions in Changing Contexts - "This Third Edition aims to stimulate a broad conversation about foundational issues; bring multiple perspectives to bear, including historical perspectives; provide new specificity to topics that have been undifferentiated in the past; and include diverse voices in the conversation."

Handbook of Research on Teaching - "This [2016] volume offers a vast array of topics ranging from the history of teaching to technological and literacy issues. In each authoritative chapter, the authors summarize the state of the field while providing conceptual overviews of critical topics related to research on teaching."

Handbook of Transformative Learning: Theory, Research, and Practice  - "Provides a comprehensive and critical review of more than three decades of theory development, research, and practice in Transformative Learning (TL). It will help adult educators understand what transformative learning is, distinguish it from other forms of learning, and foster it in their practice. The book covers five broad areas: historical, theoretical, practical, research, and future perspective."

The Oxford Handbook of Reciprocal Adult Development and Learning (CU) - This handbook, which comprises 27 chapters divided into seven parts, is the revised second edition of the 2006 Handbook of Adult Development and Learning, and explores "the synchronicity between development and learning . . . , as articles advance the latest theories to provide a rich foundation for this new area of study and practice for this interrelated field of study. At the border of two disciplines, this book focuses on the capacities of intelligence, meta-cognition, insight, self-efficacy, spirituality, interpersonal competence, wisdom, and other key adult attributes as they relate to positive changes and personal growth in adults."

Wiley Online Library (CU) - Provides full-text access to reference works in the social sciences and humanities. Notable titles include The Blackwell Handbook of Mentoring, the Handbook of Organizational Learning and Knowledge Management, The SMS Handbook of Organizational Capabilities, among others.

Annual Reviews (CU) - Reviews of topics in social sciences and other disciplines published as annual journals; see series for Economics, Law and Social Science, Political Science, and others.

New Directions for Adult and Continuing Education - "This quarterly journal is filled with resources for maximizing the effectiveness of every aspect of adult education. Each volume in the series is a completely self-contained, fully indexed edited collection featuring contributions from some of the top minds in the field."

Review of Educational Research - A publication of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), the RER publishes quarterly critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education, including conceptualizations, interpretations, and syntheses of scholarly work.

Review of Research in Education - A publication of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), the RRE provides an annual overview and descriptive analysis of selected topics of relevant research literature through critical and synthesizing essays.