What's Happening: An Independent Student Voice Collection

Collection Abstract

This collection contains materials related to the publication and operation of the student-produced magazine What’s Happening: An Independent Student Voice. Collected by Elaine Avidon in her capacity as the magazine’s advisor, the What’s Happening collection consists of twenty-two issues of the magazine; its business correspondence; personal correspondence; drawings, posters, and programs for workshops and events held by the magazine’s staff; and press materials related to the magazine. Additional materials include photographs, negatives, slides, a glass medallion bearing the magazine’s logo, and materials from Elaine Avidon's thesis. The What’s Happening collection documents the founding, organization, and operating activities of the magazine.

Dates Covered

Inclusive dates: 1965-1971

Bulk dates, 1965-1971, 1974-1978, 2018, and 2024

Volume

1.5 linear feet

Language

This collection contains records in English, Italian, and Spanish.

Collection Number

Accession number: 20240502

Manuscript Group (MG) 145

One useful tool for locating archives and archival collections is ArchiveGrid. ArchiveGrid includes millions of records describing archival materials from personal papers, family histories, corporate collections, institutional repositories, and more. Through a direct search, ArchiveGrid can help you locate relevant research relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from libraries, museums, and archives worldwide.

ArchiveGrid largely harvests data from MARC records in WorldCat and is supported by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).

Additional resources include Empire Archival Discovery Cooperative, which allows users to search for physical archival materials in repositories across New York state. Searches in WorldCat can also be filtered by format, including archival materials.