Subject Librarian
Conrad Lochner
He/ Him
Gottesman Libraries
Gottesman Libraries
Russell Hall
Teachers College, Columbia University
525 West 120th Street New York, NY 10027
+1 (212) 678-3494
Russell Hall. Library. Curriculum Reading Room (Floor 5). Historical Photographs of Teachers College. Courtesy of Gottesman Libraries.
Introduction
Records of the Office of the Provost
Welcome to the Finding Aids for Record Group 7: Office of the Provost! This research guide aims to help users navigate the archival collections of the office of the Provost of Teachers College. This guide provides descriptions of each collection in Record Group 7 and contains orienting information for distinct collections. Each section of this guide aims to give an overview of collections' materials and contents of collections while helping researchers identify relevant materials.
The collections in Record Group 7 include meeting minutes, notes, and reports related to the Office of the Provost.
Search the Catalog
Educat+ is Gottesman's search tool that includes the library catalog as well as most electronic resources the library makes available. Through Educat+, you can search for archival materials available in the Teachers College Digital Collections.
Locating Archives Outside of Teachers College
One useful tool for locating archives and archival collections is ArchiveGrid. ArchiveGrid includes millions of records describing archival materials from personal papers, family histories, corporate collections, institutional repositories, and more. Through a direct search, ArchiveGrid can help you locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from libraries, museums, and archives worldwide.
ArchiveGrid largely harvests data from MARC records in WorldCat and is supported by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).
Additional resources include Empire Archival Discovery Cooperative, which allows users to search for physical archival materials in repositories across New York state, and Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC), a free resource " helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another." SNAC can be used to locate archival collections and related resources held at archives, museums, libraries, and other cultural heritage institutions.
Searches in WorldCat can also be filtered by format, including archival materials.
